Leaving the bedside . . .

I have always thought of myself as incredibly lucky!  I have a husband that I love, hobbies that I delight in and a job that allows me to live my life with passion.  Being a nurse anesthetist was never something I thought I would do.  As a young child, I knew I was going to be a doctor, period.  Then this funny thing called love got in the way!  I wanted to get married, have kids . . . .  Self doubt also kicked in.  How in the world could I really do both?  Their was a knock at the door called opportunity!  My boyfriend (now my husband) knew, admired and respected a CRNA (Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist).  I called her up and asked a zillion questions.  This profession was EXACTLY what I was looking for!

The last 20 years have been spent holding hands, sharing words of encouragement, praying with patients and weaving dreams during surgery.  I love what I do and do what I love every day.  I went back to school and got my doctorate in nursing so I would continue to grow.  Soon I started lecturing in my field and loved all of the ways I was learning in and out of the operating room.

One day, I was approached by the COO of my company.  She is a dynamic woman–a nurse–that I have always respected and admired.   My COO has a way of looking for talent and growing it.  When she came to talk to me, I thought she was going to ask me to work in another center or perhaps take a stronger leadership role in the operating room.  I was filled with excitement and trepidation over this meeting.   She asked me to put my bedside role aside for a bit to learn and grow in the corporate world.   My jaw dropped and I said ‘NO.”  Literally minutes later, I said “Yes!”.  What started next is an incredible year filled with learning, self doubt, excitement and growing beyond anything I could have imagined.

This blog is going to highlight my wins, struggles, determination and journey to the C-suite.  I have so much to learn!  This journey is one that I want to share!  Nurses have an incredible opportunity to be leaders in healthcare.  Our perspectives are unique and needed!  My hope is that other nurses and corporate leaders will see what an impact nursing can have on quality healthcare delivery.

This entry was posted in Career, personal growth and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

