360 Review

If you are like me, I had never heard of a 360 review.  In the last week, I had the opportunity to participate in two separate reviews.  One was part of a leadership course and relatively short.  The second was conducted by the human resources department.  It was quite in depth and had so much useful information.

A 360 is a survey about you and your performance within the organization.  You are rated by direct reports, peers, executive leadership and others within the organization.  The 360 evaluation compares your self-evaluation with how others evaluated you.  The report is intended to help you understand where you currently are and may help you direct your path for the future.

After a brief Google review of 360’s I found that many people believe that they are ineffective.  This report was a good summary:

http://blogs.hbr.org/2011/10/the-fatal-flaw-with-360-survey/

Image

My boss used as at an opportunity for growth.  That was my hope when I asked for the review.  He gave me great pointers to continue to learn and move forward in my corporate position.  It was also an opportunity for me to see how I have grown in the corporate world the last year.  The review helped encourage me and direct me on my future path.

To do a 360 or not to do a 360.  What are your thoughts?

This entry was posted in 360 review, Career, corporate, mentor, personal growth, self awareness, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

